Frostbreath is a new spell that the October 23, 2026 playtest update added to A Short Quest, and the developer’s notes say it is a spell “to be found” in the world. That means you collect it during play, in King’s Wood, where the playtest takes place. However, the patch notes do not say where it is, whether it comes as a scroll or what it does, so I cannot give you a location or stats. The same update rebalanced the magic tree, added new melee upgrades and introduced backpack upgrades you can buy.
Summary: A Short Quest Frostbreath and the October 23 update
- New spell: Frostbreath, listed as a spell to be found.
- Magic: the magic tree upgrades were rebalanced.
- Melee: new melee tree upgrades were added.
- Inventory: backpack upgrades you buy expand your inventory.
- Necromancy: rebalanced, with a set number of attacks before expiring.
- Other: UI rework, a more responsive save system and rebalanced XP.
- Not published: Frostbreath’s location, stats and the full spell list.
What A Short Quest Is
A Short Quest is a first-person RPG from Silent Moon, a two-person indie team, with Mad Mushroom publishing. It is inspired by older action RPGs like King’s Field, Gothic and the early Elder Scrolls games. You carry a note of great importance to a king who has gone mad, and you must survive the journey through forests, caves, crypts and swamps.
The full game is planned for 2027, according to the August 26 announcement. Right now, you can try the King’s Wood playtest on Steam. The store page offers a Join the Playtest button that adds the playtest to your library.
| Detail | Info |
|---|---|
| Developer | Silent Moon |
| Publisher | Mad Mushroom |
| Genre | First-person action RPG |
| Playtest | King’s Wood playtest on Steam |
| Full release | 2027, with no exact date |
| Skill trees | Two asymmetric trees, melee and magic |
| Special system | Item Knowledge, which reveals hidden item properties |
PC Gamer’s playtest preview adds a few useful points. The playtest limits your character level, and nothing is tracked in a quest log or on a map. So you find things by exploring, and that matters for a spell you have to find.
October 23 Playtest Update: Patch Notes
The official notes for the October 23 update, listed on SteamDB as build 26168577, include these items:
| Change | Detail |
|---|---|
| New spell | Frostbreath, to be found |
| Magic tree | Upgrades rebalanced |
| Melee tree | New upgrades added |
| UI | Visual rework |
| Inventory | Can be expanded by buying backpack upgrades |
| Necromancy | Rebalanced, with enemies granted a set number of attacks before expiring |
| Saves | System made more responsive and robust |
| Progression | XP and level-up progression rebalanced |
Because the update is for a playtest, the developers may change any of this before the 2027 release.
Frostbreath: What We Know and What We Do Not
The notes confirm three things about Frostbreath. It is new, it is a spell and you have to find it. Beyond that, nothing is published yet.
| Question | Status |
|---|---|
| Is Frostbreath in the game now? | Yes, in the October 23 playtest update |
| Is it a scroll? | Not stated |
| Where is it? | Not published |
| What does it do? | Not published |
| Does it belong to the magic tree? | Not stated |
| What does it cost to use? | Not published |
The name suggests a cold-based attack, but that is only a guess from the word. The developer has not confirmed damage, range or effects, so check the spell description in your own game.
Because the playtest has no quest log or map markers, there is no tracked objective to follow. Instead, the update asks you to explore.
How to Look for Frostbreath

The patch notes say only that the spell can be found, so these steps are my suggestions for how to search an exploration-driven RPG. They are not confirmed routes:
- Update the playtest. Make sure you have the October 23 build, since the spell is new in that version.
- Search King’s Wood fully. The playtest takes place there, and secrets sit in out-of-the-way spots.
- Open every chest. The Steam page says you can loot chests deep below the surface.
- Check the tree tops. The page also mentions secrets in the tree tops.
- Talk to the characters you meet. PC Gamer found a wizard who gave a staff after an errand, so magic content may tie to NPCs.
- Ask on the community channels. The developers run a Discord server for feedback, and players are likely sharing finds there.
For another RPG with a flexible magic and class system, see our Emberville classes guide.
Magic Tree Rebalance and New Melee Upgrades
A Short Quest gives you two asymmetric skill trees, one for melee and one for magic. The October 23 update touched both.
- Magic tree. The notes say upgrades were rebalanced. They do not list which upgrades changed or by how much.
- Melee tree. New upgrades were added. The notes do not name them.
Because the details are missing, I cannot give you a best build or a ranked spell list. If you already have a build, check your upgrade costs and effects in game, since rebalanced values may differ from what you remember. PC Gamer’s preview also noted that the skill trees look like they encourage different approaches to combat, so a melee and magic split should still matter.
Backpack Upgrades and the Inventory
This is one of the most practical changes. The update lets you expand your inventory by purchasing backpack upgrades. The notes do not say who sells them, what they cost or how many exist.
The change fits the game’s style. PC Gamer admits it had a hard time letting go of any item it picked up, and the Item Knowledge system rewards you for keeping items that have undiscovered uses. More inventory space makes that easier.
Necromancy Rebalance
The game lets you pit enemies against each other with an alliance system, friendly fire or necromancy spells. The update rebalances necromancy, and the notes say enemies get a set number of attacks before expiring.
That wording most likely describes enemies you raise, so they fight for a limited number of attacks and then disappear. The notes do not spell that out, though, so test it before you rely on it. A fixed attack count also means you cannot rely on a necromancy ally to last for the whole fight.
Saves, XP and UI Changes
Three smaller changes round out the update:
- Save system. It is now more responsive and robust, which matters in a playtest that may still have bugs.
- XP and level-ups. Progression was rebalanced, although the playtest still caps your level.
- UI. The visual design was reworked.
If you play regularly, your old saves may behave differently, so back up before you continue. That backup is my suggestion, not a developer instruction.
A Short Quest Best Spells and Scrolls
I cannot give you a best-spells list, because the developers have not published one and I found no verified spell database. The sources confirm only a few spell concepts: magic spells you can master, necromancy and now Frostbreath.
Until players document the full list, here is how to compare spells yourself:
- Read each description. Item Knowledge may hide some properties.
- Test against one enemy type. Fire the spell at the same target and compare.
- Watch the cost. Check mana or other resource use.
- Use alliances. The game rewards creative use of enemies fighting each other.
Tips for the Playtest
- Explore slowly. Nothing is marked on a map.
- Keep your items. Hidden properties may matter.
- Spend on backpacks. The new upgrades relieve inventory pressure.
- Save often. The update improved saving, but it is still a playtest.
- Share your findings. The developers want feedback on Discord.
Common Mistakes
- Expecting a marked location. The game has no quest log or map markers.
- Searching for a stat sheet. None exists yet for Frostbreath.
- Trusting unverified lists. No public spell database is complete.
- Skipping the update. Frostbreath exists only in the October 23 build.
- Forgetting it is a playtest. The developers may change everything.
Conclusion
Frostbreath is a new, findable spell in A Short Quest’s October 23 playtest update, alongside magic and melee tree changes, backpack upgrades and a necromancy rebalance. Explore King’s Wood thoroughly, test spells yourself and watch the Discord for the first confirmed location. Everything here is accurate as of October 24, 2026, and the developers may add details or change the spell before the 2027 launch.
FAQs
What is Frostbreath in A Short Quest?
It is a new spell that the October 23, 2026 playtest update added. The notes list it as a spell to be found.
Where do I find Frostbreath?
The notes do not say. Explore King’s Wood, where the playtest takes place.
What else did the October 23 update add?
It rebalanced the magic tree, added new melee upgrades, reworked the UI and added backpack upgrades.
How do backpack upgrades work?
You can expand your inventory by purchasing them. The notes do not give prices.
When does A Short Quest release?
The full game is planned for 2027, with no exact date.
How do I join the A Short Quest playtest?
Use the Join the Playtest button on the game’s Steam page.
For more updates visit: GAME SPEC

